Samsung F700 3G SmartPhone Review

The Samsung F700 is known as the Samsung Ultra Smart F700 which is a 3G Smartphone & comes with full touch screen controls. The F700 Ultra Smart is a highly multimedia & technology focused phone which comes in a beautifully designed handset. The handset has a smooth finish & has a sleek design with it’s curved edges. The handset comes with metal effect edging & the touch screen comes with a black coloured surround. The phone comes with a side positioned slide out QWERTY keyboard which is easy to use whilst viewing the large touch screen. The phones screen is 2.78 Inches in size & comes with a fully touch sensitive screen which allows the user to make selections & access menus by using touch activated controls only. The Samsung F700 Ultra Smart comes with VibeTonz technology which allows the user to actually feel the buttons with a responsive vibration. The large screen provides up to 262k colours with a screen resolution of 420 x 240 pixels. The Samsung F700 is similar in design to other touch screen handsets which include the Apple iPhone & the LG KE850 Prada. The handset is 104mm high by 50mm wide by 16.4mm deep which is a solid & compact size for a 3G handset.

The phone comes with High Speed Downlink Packet Access (HSDPA) network which allows the user to enjoy high speed technology on the move which provides speed up to 7.2 Mbps. The phone work on a tri band network which will automatically switch between network bands. The Samsung F700 comes with Bluetooth® technology which provides the user with a wirefree connection to all compatible devices. The user can enjoy EDGE technology & USB connectivity on their handset. The 3G technology provides the user with a high speed multitasking handset which allows the user to enjoy added 3G features such as video calling capabilities. The 3G Smartphone comes with a Flash user interface & a document viewer which allows the user to view documents in popular file formats. The user can use their phone offline which allows the user to access features such as music, photos & videos whilst in restricted areas & the offline mode will disable the phone call features.

Samsung F700 3G SmartPhone Front View
Samsung F700 3G SmartPhone Open View
Samsung F700 3G SmartPhone Angle View

 

The phone comes with a high quality camera feature which can be used for capturing photos & video with ease. The camera is discretely built into the handset & comes with easy to use camera controls & settings. The camera is a 3.15 megapixel digital camera & comes complete with auto focus. The user can change the camera mode to take still photos or to record moving video footage. The user can change the camera setting to gain the desired shot with the required finish to their photo. The Samsung F700 comes with easy to access video feature which include a built in video player which can play video in MPEG4, H263, H264 & Real video format. The user can record, play, stream, store & share their video footage. The phone comes with a second camera which is used when taking part in a video call which is all available due to the built in 3G technology. The user can have a face to face video call with any 3G compatible video calling compatible contact. The built in music player provides the user with non stop entertainment on the move. The user can hear their favourite music in clear stereo sound in either MP3, AAC+ or eAAC+ music format. The user can enjoy using an easy to use drag & drop method to control & create their music play list. The user can control the volume, screen brightness, play list & navigate through menus using the touch screen. The phone supports polyphonic & MP3 ringing tones which the user can change to suit their ringing tone style.

The Samsung F700 Ultra Smart comes with a full HTML browser which provides the user with access to the Internet at any time of the day or night. The user can use the QWERTY keyboard when surfing the Internet which provides an easy input method. The super 7.2 Mbps HSDPA speed allows the user to enjoy a fast mobile email service & the user can catch up with their email on the move. The F700 comes with an instant messaging service which allows the user to have an online chat with others who are online at the same time as the user. The messaging services on the Samsung F700 include multimedia messaging, enhanced messaging & text messaging. The multimedia messaging service better known as MMS allows the user to send & receive messages complete with text & sound with either a photo or a video recording. The Samsung Ultra Smart F700 brings together high quality technology, beautiful design with a fun filled entertainment phone.

Do not copy content from the page. Plagiarism will be detected by Copyscape.


Samsung F700 Ultra Smart Specifications & Features

Screen
2.78 Inch TFT 262k Full Colour Touch Screen (440 x 240 Pixels)

Imaging
3.15 Megapixel Camera
Auto Focus
Flash
Photo Effects
Photo Settings
Second Camera
Video Calling
Video Recorder
Video Player (MPEG4, H263, H264 & Real)
Video Streaming
Screensaver & Wallpaper

Messaging
SMS (Text Messaging)
EMS (Enhanced Messaging)
MMS (Multimedia Messaging)
Email
Instant Messaging

Sound
Music Player (MP3, AAC+ & eAAC+)
Volume Control
Play Lists
Polyphonic Ringtones
MP3 Ringtones
Vibration Alert

Entertainment
Java™ Games

Organiser
Phonebook
Clock
Alarm
Currency Converter
Calculator
Calendar
To Do List
Stop Watch
Call Timer
Offline Mode
Document Viewer
Flash User Interface
VibeTonz Technology
QWERTY Keypad

Connectivity
3G HSDPA
Bluetooth®
USB
EDGE

Network
Tri Band (GSM 900, GSM 1800 & GSM 1900)
HSDPA

Internet
HTML Browser
WAP 2.0

Memory & Talk Time
MicroSD™ Memory Card
4.5 Hours Talk Time
300 Hours Standby

Weight & Size
139 g
104 x 50 x 16.4 mm


Your Samsung F700 Reviews

Click here to add your own review for the Samsung F700
Click here to add your own review for the Samsung F700

Reviewer: Rachael – Birmingham, UK
Date: 6th Nov 2009

I had the G600 Samsung & was really happy with it but wanted to adjust to the times & just bought myself a very nice looking F700. I have one big problem with it however I was wondering if you could help me on. I used to go on to facebook Google on my phone & when I saw a picture I liked; clicked on it, & then went to the options, save, web page or image. Now when I go to options & save it only comes up with save, web page. There is no place to save image. Just wondering if this is the same with every f700 or if mine has a problem, wrong settings?

If you could get back to me I would be really grateful. Thanks a lot, Rachael :).

Design

90%
Usability

70%
Features

60%

Reviewer: Joe – London, UK
Date: 28th Jul 2009

How much is it?

Design

50%
Usability

50%
Features

50%

Reviewer: Adam – UK
Date: 30th Jun 2009

Where abouts can I buy this phone from because it doesn’t show up on the Vodafone UK website?

Design

50%
Usability

50%
Features

50%

Reviewer: Rebecca – UK
Date: 4th Apr 2009

I have had this phone for a while now & I love it.

I have to admit the camera is not much good in my opinion & the zoom could be better. But the other features make up for it. The keyboard is by far the best feature, it’s really simple to use & makes me text a lot faster.

I think the phone should be able to change theme colours & designs but apart from that. I would definitely recommend this phone.

Design

95%
Usability

95%
Features

95%

Reviewer: Gary – Sheffield, UK
Date: 3rd Mar 2009

Yeah I mean the phone looks like nice. I had the phone for around about 4 month maybe not even that & I had problems with picking up calls as I had to constantly press the screen before it would answer the call. I didn’t think when in a call the sound was very loud, even when the phone was ringing. It wasn’t very loud.

I ended up getting rid & replacing it for the C905 & that’s not good either got it three month ago & I don’t even have that one anymore. But that will be all in the C905 review by me.

Design

100%
Usability

80%
Features

90%

Reviewer: Courtz – UK
Date: 5th Feb 2009

This is the phone to buy it has a keyboard & is fully touch oh & it is a Samsung they are one of the easiest phones to operate! I love it.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: Sam – Blackpool, UK
Date: 21st Jan 2009

Had this phone 12 months now &, unfortunately be due to a few trips down the stairs etc!

A couple of weeks ago the sound in a phone call started to go. I’ll be ringing someone & can’t hear anything & then all of a sudden it’ll wake up & start blasting at full volume in my ear! Also, starting to look a bit tired, this phone, like all touch screen I guess, is quite prone to visible scratches.

Besides these problems, this is a great phone & if you only get it on a 12 month contract then you’ll be changing it before it dies anyway!

I like the layout of this phone so much (touch screen with qwerty keypad) that I am scouring the Internet for similar new phones, think I’ll get the Nokia N97 in 6 months time when the contract runs out.

Design

95%
Usability

100%
Features

95%

Reviewer: Ray Leddy – Las Palmas, Spain
Date: 7th Jan 2009

I read all the other reviews & what I am saying is nothing new. The usability of this phone is awful. I have resurrected my Nokia 6600 & am using that instead. Why, nothing worse than getting an important call, & being unable to get the touch screen to work, pounding & pounding & rubbing & poking away at that screen, sorry lost too many calls, probably lost business too & most certainly cost me more because I had to return calls. A phone should act like a phone & all the other add ons should be a bonus. If a phone fails to operate as a phone, bin it which I have.

Design

75%
Usability

20%
Features

50%

Reviewer: Lou – UK
Date: 6th Jan 2009

I LOVE this phone so much. I have had this phone for 4 months now & haven’t had a single problem with it, people said the touch screen wasn’t too responsive but I find it the most responsive touch screen I have had yet.

The keyboard is amazing on it but it takes some getting used to which I don’t mint one bit. The screen is bright. The camera is brilliant in my opinion. Responsive touch screen & loud ring. These are all my opinions but I LOVE this phone so much. I would recommend it to anyone.

Only bad thing is the price but in my opinion it is worth it.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: Rachel – East Kilbride, UK
Date: 24th Dec 2008

I have actually had this phone for over a year now, & although I love it, the keyboard is just amazing, I am having nothing but annoying problems with it now. The phone will not switch off at all. Which I have to admit was very annoying when going on holiday, as to switch it off, I had to take the battery out, as it switches itself back on again as soon as it is switched off otherwise.

The screen keeps going blank while using it, although things typed still appear after the screen comes back. My screen also sometimes reverses the colour, displays upside down, back to front, mirror imaged, & on one occasion, I had four mini screens on the screen.

The screen takes around 30 seconds to come on now, less if it’s been sitting overnight unused, but the more it is used during the day, the longer it takes.

However having said all that, I would definitely buy another one of this phone, I do love everything it has on it, & the ease of the keyboard for us texting nut jobs is amazing.

Design

85%
Usability

60%
Features

80%

Reviewer: Neville – UK
Date: 18th Dec 2008

I am getting this phone as a present for Xmas. I have spent months looking at reviews & photographs & have fell in love with the phone, I can’t wait to get it, the camera is much much much better than my old phone as it has 3 mp, a flash & loads of editing settings.

I have never had a touch screen or a phone with a keyboard so it will take a long time to get used too but it will be well worth it.

Hope this helped you a tiny little bit but I am just so excited that I had to post this. Thank you for reading this.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: Brigitte – Bedford, UK
Date: 22nd Nov 2008

The sensitivity of the touch screen is not good enough, sometimes you need to press it really hard to get it work.

Volume is not high enough, very easy to miss calls when you are outdoors.

The camera is rubbish, the worst camera I’ve ever had with phones & pictures all look a bit bluish.

The only good thing about it is the big screen.

Design

75%
Usability

60%
Features

70%

Reviewer: Claire – UK
Date: 18th Nov 2008

I’ve had one for about 4 months now & I absolutely love it!

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: Samantha19 – East Yorkshire, UK
Date: 21st Oct 2008

I have wanted this phone for ages & I finally got it today! I have to say I love it! It looks fantastic & it’s so easy to use I can’t believe that some people have written bad reviews about the touch screen etc. I have found it easy to use, very responsive & so stylish. The qwerty keypad is awesome! The camera is OK for a phone camera but buy a digital camera if you want it to be fantastic! I love it don’t want to stop playing with it!

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: Lee – Durham, UK
Date: 29th Sep 2008

This is the worst phone I’ve ever owned!

The Touch Screen is absolutely useless & often doesn’t respond, sometimes the bottom bar of buttons when typing a text don’t work & it constantly freezes up. When you hang up from a call the screen won’t come back on & I have to take the battery out!

The QWERTY keyboard is useless as the buttons are too small to use!

I will never get another Samsung touch screen again!

Only 10 months into an 18 month contract & I’ve had to take out a new contract to get a decent phone, the Nokia N78, which thankfully isn’t a touch screen & isn’t a Samsung!

Design

40%
Usability

30%
Features

60%

Reviewer: Damian Elliott – South Shields, UK
Date: 25th Sep 2008

I have got this phone & its simple to use as it is a touch screen the only downfall I have about this phone is the memory its far too small since its a smart phone & the Internet is not much better as it is slow or it keeps on saying either connection failed or no connection at all.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

85%

Reviewer: Lauren – UK
Date: 19th Sep 2008

Well I never! I love this phone. My friend got it & showed it to me & I loved it as soon as I saw it. Now I am having it for Xmas & can’t wait, I love that the phone is unique but stylish at the same time & I adore the QWERTY keyboard. People say that the phone is twice as slow & the screen is unresponsive, I don’t think that, I had no problems working my friend’s phone. I definitely recommend this phone to everyone. I can’t wait till Santa comes now.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%

Reviewer: James Scott – UK
Date: 18th Aug 2008

Looks good, good price, nice touch screen keybord & handy.

Good phone & never frozen.

Design

95%
Usability

85%
Features

90%

Reviewer: Ants – Bothwell, UK
Date: 16th Aug 2008

Had this phone for about 6 months & it is amazing.

The QWERTY keypad is by far the best idea for a phone. I smashed the screen in drunken night out (still worked but was hard to read texts) & had to use a normal phone for a week which hard to get use to because I had been using the QWERTY for so long.

If it had a bit better camera & radio the features would be 100% & Wi Fi would help as well.

Usability this phone is so easy to use, the one down side is sometimes it’s hard to answer when its locked (you have to unlock then press the centre button & the tap the screen & the select answer) although that might just be me.

The one downside as that as far as I am aware it’s no longer available in the UK. So hopefully mine will last for another couple of years.

Design

85%
Usability

90%
Features

80%

Reviewer: Neil Morris – London, UK
Date: 14th Aug 2008

Well I got my F700 on an upgrade from Vodafone as the iPhone is only available to O2 at the moment (Vodafone when are you going to get this exclusive agreement off O2? ). & liked the look of this phone & its uncanny resemblance to the iPhone, it even fits in the iPhone case!

I have to say that initially it was a pain to use as the screen kept freezing & going to places I didn’t ask it to! I found also that the phone won’t end calls very well & especially voicemail calls where many times I have had to take the damn battery out to kill the call! You have to be really positive with the touch screen & give it time to react & you will find that with a bit of patience it gets easier! Now I am used to it I am finding it great to use & the slide out QWERTY keyboard is fabulous. I can sit there like a typewriter & text for England! It is very easy & a clear easy to read screen above it & I love the way it turns pictures & text around depending how you hold the phone! Cool!

Yes you have to lock the touch screen to avoid accidentally sending it to music or text but it becomes automatic to touch the screen & unlock or lock the screen afterwards.

The camera is great & the resolution is fine for Bluetoothing to my PC laptop or wherever & the quality is as good as a cheaper digital camera anywhere. I like also that you can edit & crop & enhance the photos before you save or send them, not quite Photoshop or iPhoto but damn good for a phone!

Haven’t got to grips with the music side of things as I have an iPod but the Bose earphones it comes with are the best & work a treat in my iPod!

I would recommend this phone to anyone who is happy to play around & has patience & likes something that looks as cool as the iPhone only with a superb keyboard built in.

I would have to add that I am not sure that I would ever want to go back to a phone where you have to press a button 3 times to input a letter in an SMS again.& Blackberries are so fiddly & small & fall to bits! What phone would I choose next, merge the iPhone & this one & you might have the answer!

Design

95%
Usability

55%
Features

90%

Reviewer: Melanie Lovell – Wareham, UK
Date: 7th Aug 2008

I have had no problems with my F700 it has not frozen like others have said. It’s a great phone I love it I recommend it to anyone who is thinking of getting one.

Design

100%
Usability

100%
Features

100%